Set the fire to the third bar♬

Thursday night, us rebels doing French AS-level went all the way down to Earlsfield to see a play – mind you, performed in Bollywood style and spoken in English, but written by Moliere. I was a bit skeptical, as any normal person would be, but at the same time intrigued, so after getting so stressed at Clapham Junction (the worst train station ever) we arrived at Tara theater. It may be the smallest theater in the world, I don’t know, but it’s definitely the smallest I’ve ever been into; the size of a normal back-to-back house, the ‘stage’ was the size of the living room and there were no more than 30 seats altogether. Needless to say our group took up 1/3 of the whole thing. Anyways, it was such a fun play with amazing live music of all genres and the actors were actually very good. There isn’t as much dancing as we thought it would but I guess that wasn’t the point of the play…

On Saturday I met with my friend for lunch on Kensington High Street where she suggested Dryland Grand Cafe , a really nice bar restaurant just opposite the tube station. They had everything from cakes to salads but I just had to go for the goats cheese and roasted vegetable sandwich with a blueberry smoothie…so healthy. No need to mention that we couldn’t resist going in a few shops and I’m putting together a wish list as soon as possible. Actually, as soon as I get enough money to spend because otherwise it’s just mean.

And to wrap up my exhausting weekend, Sunday was spent at Somerset House where I’m a volunteer with the temporary exhibitions. This week I was assigned to the Paul Benney : Night Paintings display in the Deadhouse which has just opened and will run until the 9th of December. I love my role anyways, but to get to be in Somerset’s Deadhouse is a privilege as it is almost never open for the public and it’s so interesting. It’s called as such because in its crypt-like walls there are tombs and gravestones dating from the 14th century and with the lighting and the gloomy paintings it was quite chilling. Coming in from Embankment level, the exhibition really stands out as different. I find the paintings themselves quite interesting, some which are quite quizzical and impress with the use of perspective and technique of oil and resin on wood, but I liked the way they’ve been exhibited and I think the location is perfect for the story of the paintings. I definitely recommend it, as I recommend the Valentino exhibition which will open on the 29th of November… I literally cannot wait for that one!

By the way, I’m selling some of my clothes – and not only – on eBay so if you’re interested click here! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

