Christian Louboutin at the London Design Museum

Yesterday the Christian Louboutin 20 years anniversary exhibition at the Design Museum has finished and by now I can safely assume that around 50 or 70 pairs of precious red soled heels and not only are boarding a plane for the Louboutin archives where they really should be under lock and key.

I think I’ve been pretty lucky to have been inches away from so many splendid shoes which, let’s be honest, I won’t be able to afford for a long time now. Some designs have really impressed me, like Mexibeads ss 2012, Anemone 2008 and Ballerine 2007. The most amazing ones that I didn’t even expect to see there were the limited edition Marie Antoinette inspired heels of which there are only 36 pairs in the world. I think me and Mr Louboutin would have a great conversation on Sofia Coppola’s rendition of the last French queen, since we both love the movie… coincidence much?!

I wasn’t actually allowed to take any photos so excuse the horrible quality of my photos but I had to sneakily take them when the guard-people weren’t looking. So worth it I might add!

The decor was very playful just like the designs exhibited. There was a mirror room, a film room where you could see Mr. Louboutin dancing tap with studded black shoes (priceless) and a giant Faberge egg from which a pair of glorious shoes popped up – the Tsar design I think. Oh and yes, that is a performance of Dita von Teese who metamorphosized into a massive 2 ft tall swarovski heel…everything made possible due to holographic technology.

A normal day at the Louboutin workshop and the designer’s desk replica.

Finishing off with Christian Louboutin’s quote : ‘ For me, a successful shoe is one with minimal design but whose lines are bare and so the shoe appears to be an extension of the leg. ‘ I’m sure that’s the case with the ballerina shoes too…

Leave a Reply

