Image

Amsterdam photos

Fun fact here: I’m the type of person that gets up in the morning and says ‘I’ll do so much today!’ and end up doing completely random things just to avoid what I set out to do in the first place. So it’s a miracle this post is actually happening .

However, I got really tired of postponing the Amsterdam photos and I had a very hard Additional Maths test today so I figured I could allow myself a break this time and relax. So the product of my procrastination (I hate this word so much) lies before your eyes!

I will never get tired of looking at pictures with Amsterdam canals. The symmetry is really breathtaking but the small details make them one of the most idyllic city scapes I have seen so far in my 16 years of life.

(slightly awkward pose here, moving on)

Amsterdam houses are simply adorable. It looks like they’re made of gingerbread and the amount of decorations makes each house stand out in its own way. Here’s a tip if you’re planning to visit Amsterdam: the nicest houses, located on the canal are on the Keizersgracht and Herengracht, two of the main canals in the heart of the historic city. If it’s not raining or windy or freezing cold (like the conditions the owner of these photos had to put up with), hire a bike and just go for a ride in the area. It really makes Amsterdam spectacular.

Speaking of bikes, it’s madness. If I had too much free time, I would probably come up with a statistic along the lines of ‘There’s a 78% bigger chance of getting run over by bicycles than by cars or other vehicles’, but I’ll keep with guessing. Some wacky bikes out there too, but I suppose it’s more practical than anything…you might not find your bike ever again if it’s plain grey, will you?

Okay some of these photos don’t look particularly promising but I have to tell you the good and the bad. In my opinion, don’t waste (too much) time in the area around the Central Station and right before the Red Light District. It’s very commercial and full of irrelevant, counterfeit shops/bars/places (you get what I’m trying to say right?).

The Floating Flower Market is a sight in its own right. It’s so full of color and you can find literally any type of flower/ plant/ green-things that you have never thought existed. You can even buy a kit of DIY cannabis for around  3 euros. You can’t export it though, tough love!

(and the proof)

(an antique print that I bought in Arts&Prints shop right next to the flower market)

 And I’m finishing off this long post with a photo of me and my beloved Amsterdam coffee at cafe Hoppe, about which I’ll talk in another post. Oooh, the suspense! 🙂

Ana x

Leave a Reply

